Carry-On Size Guide: What Fits in the Overhead Bin (and Which Coolife Bag to Pick)
Published 2026-09-30
A "20-inch carry-on" sounds like a clear answer until you stand at the gate next to a metal sizer. Airlines don't measure the number on the tag. They measure the outside of the bag, usually including wheels and handle, and that gap is where most carry-on trouble starts.
This guide sets out the carry-on and personal-item limits the major US airlines publish on their own websites, then matches them to the Coolife cabin bags on this site using only the measurements Coolife states. Where Coolife doesn't give an outside measurement, we say so rather than guess. We haven't flown with these bags ourselves; the notes follow Coolife's published specs.
The airline figures were checked on each airline's official site in late September 2026. Rules change, and some routes, aircraft and fares add restrictions, so check the airline before you fly.
The quick version
- American, Delta and United all cap a carry-on at 22 x 14 x 9 inches, and all three count wheels and handles.
- Southwest and Frontier allow a larger 24 x 16 x 10 inches, also including wheels and handles. On Frontier, the carry-on is a paid extra unless your fare bundle or status includes it.
- Personal items are where the rules differ most: 18 x 14 x 8 on American and Frontier, 17 x 10 x 9 on United, and "fits under the seat" with no published size on Delta and Southwest.
- If you only want one bag that works on all five, buy to 22 x 14 x 9 and fly with any expansion zipped shut.
- In the Coolife range, the 20" PC+ABS Carry-On, Black Brown and the Expandable Front-Pocket Carry-On, Apricot name 22 x 14 x 9 sizing, and the 30L Travel Laptop Backpack, Black has full stated dimensions for personal-item planning.
US airline carry-on limits (as of Sept 2026)
Swipe sideways to see the whole table →
| Airline | Carry-on bag (max) | Wheels and handles counted? | Personal item (max) | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American | 22 x 14 x 9 in (56 x 36 x 23 cm) | Yes | 18 x 14 x 8 in (45 x 35 x 20 cm) | On regional American Eagle flights, a carry-on larger than the personal-item size is valet-checked at the gate at no charge (the ERJ-175 is an exception). |
| Delta | 22 x 14 x 9 in (56 x 35 x 23 cm), and no more than 45 linear inches (114 cm) combined | Yes | No size published; must fit under the seat in front of you | On Delta Connection flights with 50 seats or fewer, only personal items go on board; larger bags get a gate claim tag. |
| United | 22 x 14 x 9 in (56 x 35 x 23 cm) | Yes | 17 x 10 x 9 in (43 x 25 x 22 cm) | In most cases, Basic Economy allows only a personal item. |
| Southwest | 24 x 16 x 10 in | Yes, plus any attachments | No size published; must fit under the seat in front of you | Carry-on and personal item are both included on every ticket. |
| Frontier | 24 x 16 x 10 in, up to 35 lb | Yes, plus straps | 18 x 14 x 8 in, up to 35 lb | Every ticket includes a personal item; the carry-on is bought separately or comes with a bundle or status. |
A note on budget carriers: Spirit announced on May 2, 2026 that it had cancelled all flights and begun winding down, so it no longer has a carry-on policy to plan around. For any other low-cost airline, check its size and fee page before you book, since budget fares often price the carry-on separately.
Why a "20-inch" bag isn't a 22 x 14 x 9 bag by default
Sizes like 20", 24" and 28" tell you which family a case belongs to (cabin, medium checked, large checked), not how it measures in a sizer. Three things push the outside size up:
- Wheels. Spinner wheels add height below the shell. American, Delta, United, Southwest and Frontier all count them.
- The handle housing. A telescoping handle sits on top of or behind the shell, and airlines count that as well.
- Expansion. A zip-out expansion panel adds depth, and depth is the tightest number on the 22 x 14 x 9 airlines. A bag can clear 9 inches zipped and fail the sizer expanded.
So an outside measurement is worth more than a size label. When a product page doesn't give one, measure the bag at home, packed the way you'll fly.
How Coolife cabin bags line up
Swipe sideways to see the whole table →
| Coolife bag | Size info from Coolife | Expands? | How it lines up |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20" PC+ABS Carry-On, Black Brown | Product title names 22x14x9 airline-approved sizing; about 38L | No, not on this Black Brown version | Same numbers American, Delta and United publish, and inside 24 x 16 x 10 |
| Expandable Front-Pocket Carry-On, Apricot | 22x14x9 sizing named; about 42–47L expanded; laptop compartment for laptops under 17" | Yes | Plan on the zipped size for 22 x 14 x 9 airlines; check depth before flying expanded |
| Expandable 100% PC Carry-On, GlideSpring | 20" size; outside dimensions not stated | Yes, about 15% | Check the product page for exterior measurements |
| 20" pieces in sets and kits | 20" size; outside dimensions not stated | Varies by set | Check each set's product page |
| 30L Travel Laptop Backpack, Black | About 17.7 x 12.2 x 6.7 in, about 2.2 lb | No | Within 18 x 14 x 8 (American, Frontier) on paper; wider and taller than United's 17 x 10 x 9 |
One caution on the first row: Coolife's product title names 22x14x9, but it doesn't say whether that figure is measured with the wheels and handle. Because all five airlines above count both, it is worth a quick tape measure before your first trip.
Picking a Coolife carry-on by airline and trip
Flying American, Delta or United
On the 22 x 14 x 9 airlines, a bag that stays at a fixed size is the easy choice. The 20" PC+ABS Carry-On, Black Brown is the simplest match in the range: a PC+ABS hardside spinner with a built-in TSA lock, quiet spinner wheels, a telescoping handle, a lined interior with multi-use pockets, and roughly 38L of space, with 22x14x9 sizing in its title. Coolife ties expansion to certain other versions, so we treat this Black Brown piece as non-expandable: no zip-out capacity, but no risk of packing it too deep either. For the full rundown, read the Coolife 20" Carry-On Review.
Working trips, or when you want room to grow
The Expandable Front-Pocket Carry-On, Apricot also names 22 x 14 x 9 sizing, and adds a front pocket plus a padded laptop compartment for laptops under 17". It has dual TSA locks, 360° spinner wheels and a polycarbonate shell, with about 42–47L of capacity expanded. The simple rule: fly zipped on American, Delta and United, and save the expansion for when you're checking the bag or flying an airline with a deeper limit.
If shock-absorbing wheels matter more to you than a laptop pocket, the Expandable 100% PC Carry-On, GlideSpring is a 20" polycarbonate spinner with about 15% zip-out expansion, a recessed TSA combination lock and a two-sided interior with a wet-item pouch. Coolife doesn't state its outside dimensions, so check the product page and measure before relying on it for a 22 x 14 x 9 airline. You'll find it in Suitcases & Hardshell Spinners.
Flying Southwest or Frontier
A 24 x 16 x 10 limit gives you extra inches in every direction, and Southwest includes the carry-on on every ticket. A bag built around 22 x 14 x 9 fits inside that box with room to spare, and an expandable carry-on has more depth to work with. It still has to fit the bin, and Frontier adds a 35 lb cap. On a Frontier fare without a carry-on, only the personal item is included, which brings us to backpacks.
The personal item: where the 30L backpack fits
The personal item goes under the seat, and it's the only bag included on most United Basic Economy tickets and Frontier fares without a bundle.
The 30L Travel Laptop Backpack, Black is the one Coolife bag with full outside dimensions stated: about 17.7 x 12.2 x 6.7 inches and about 2.2 lb. On paper, that sits inside the 18 x 14 x 8 personal-item size that American and Frontier publish. It is larger than United's 17 x 10 x 9 in two dimensions, so on United, plan to use it as your carry-on or check your airline's rules for your fare. Delta and Southwest don't publish a personal-item size, only that it must fit under the seat.
It has a padded sleeve for a 15.6" laptop, a 180° opening that lays flat for packing, a wet/dry section, water-resistant 500D polyester, and a luggage pass-through for riding on a spinner handle. A stuffed backpack bulges past its stated depth, so pack it loosely near a limit.
The 4-Piece ABS Set, Apricot Black includes a 16" hard case and the Softshell 4-Piece Set with Tote a 15" tote. Coolife doesn't state outside dimensions for either, so measure before counting on them as personal items.
Carry-ons that come as part of a set
Many Coolife 20" carry-ons come in a set. The 3-Piece PC Hardshell Set, Caramel Black pairs an expandable 20" with nesting 24" and 28" checked cases (see the Coolife 3-Piece Caramel Black Set Review). Kits like the 3-Piece Black Carry-On + Backpack + Toiletry Bag and the 3-Piece Black Carry-On + Duffel + Toiletry Bag put a 20" spinner next to soft companion bags. The softshell set's 20" is described as sized for IATA cabin use.
None of these state outside measurements for the 20" piece, so check the product page for your set and measure at home. If a companion bag is your personal item, check it against your airline's row above. Browse every set in Luggage Sets, or see how hard and soft sets differ in Hardshell 3-Piece vs Softshell 4-Piece: Which Coolife Set?
A five-minute check before you fly
- Measure the packed bag, wheels on and handle down, at its tallest, widest and deepest points.
- Compare with the airline and fare you're flying this time. United Basic Economy and Frontier's base fare change what's included.
- Zip any expansion shut if you're flying a 22 x 14 x 9 airline.
- Weigh it if you're on Frontier, where carry-ons and personal items are capped at 35 lb.
- Tag it, since carry-ons can still be gate-checked on full flights and small regional planes.
FAQ
Is a 20-inch suitcase always carry-on size? No. "20-inch" names the size family, not the outside measurement. American, Delta and United allow 22 x 14 x 9 inches including wheels and handles, so check the outside dimensions or measure.
Do wheels and handles count? Yes, on all five airlines here. Southwest also counts attachments, and Frontier counts straps.
Can I fly with an expandable carry-on expanded? Only if it still fits the limit. Expanding adds depth, and 9 inches is the tightest number for American, Delta and United. Flying zipped is the safe default.
Which Coolife carry-on matches the 22 x 14 x 9 limit? The 20" PC+ABS Carry-On, Black Brown and the Expandable Front-Pocket Carry-On, Apricot both name 22x14x9 sizing on their product pages. For other Coolife 20" pieces, check the product page and measure.
Does the Coolife 30L backpack count as a personal item? It depends on the airline. At about 17.7 x 12.2 x 6.7 inches, it's within the 18 x 14 x 8 size American and Frontier publish, but larger than United's 17 x 10 x 9.
Where to go next
For the whole range in one place, start with the Coolife review. If you're choosing between sizes, shells and sets, the How to Choose Coolife Luggage guide goes through 20/24/28 sizing, hard vs soft shells and which pieces expand. Or browse Carry-On Luggage and Travel Backpacks directly.
The short answer: buy to 22 x 14 x 9 if you fly the big three, keep the expansion zipped, and measure your actual bag before the airport does it for you.
Shop links may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.